Dearth

Dearth means “lack of or scarcity of something.”  It’s pronounced “derth.”  And in this case, I’m going to use it in the following sentence: This year, we have had a dearth of wintry weather.

Maggie and I have been going on walks to the grocery store and spending time at parks. Wearing light spring jackets.

Hanging out at Mt. Echo park.

 

I was going to write something deep and serious right here, but the sun is shining and it’s a warm February morning (and it’s also 10:27 am, which happens to be my birthday: October 27), so I’m going to save it for a drearier day.

Instead, I’m going to share a recipe for my favorite peanut butter cookies.  I don’t even like peanut butter cookies, but I like these.  They also happen to be pretty darn good for you, considering they are cookies.  The recipe is below, and I also linked them back to their source.

Secret Peanut Butter Cookies

1/2 cup peanut butter

3/4 tsp baking soda

3 Tbsp whole wheat pastry flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 Tbsp brown sugar

2 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350°.  Combine dry ingredients (baking soda, flour, and sugars) and mix well.  Add wet ingredients (peanut butter, applesauce, vanilla extract) to dry and mix well.  Use a small spoon to place small balls of dough on a cookie sheet.  This recipe makes 15-22 cookies, depending on how big you make them.  If you make 22 cookies, they’ll be about 50 calories per cookie. Unless you sprinkle a few mini chocolate chips on top, like I do.

Bake preheated oven for about 8 minutes.

 

Enjoy the weather, everyone!  Who knows how long this dearth of snow will last.

Love, Anna

Standard

Leave a Reply

